Costly Discipleship

I am fighting myself to get back into the discipline of Scripture memory. Today I am learning Matthew 10:34-42, and I’m finding this passage to be painful–not because the grammar, syntax, or vocabulary is too difficult to store away but instead that the call is so clear…and much more comfortably ignored. “He who has found his life will lose it, but he who has lost his life for my sake will find it.” God, have I claimed some fashion of life apart from You? Is it in attachment to decent, comfortable, quiet living? If I follow, I understand that it will cost me dearly in the realms of relationships and standing in this world, and I balk at those prices. Give me faith so I can see clearly today, Father; give me hope so that I can endure; and help me to find all of my joy in You.

This entry was posted in Journal, Simple Prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

