Praise

I relate most readily to the “out of the depths I cry to You,” “where are You, God?” and “how long, O Lord…” spirit of so many of David’s and Asaph’s psalms.  It seems that despair is one of the tools that God uses most effectively in my life to soften and purify my heart.  Spiritually, I am often like a 4th quarter football team that finds itself in a hole and only then begins to channel the focus and energy it should have had in the first 3 quarters.  Some crumble under adversity; I am more prone to a fall in the midst of prosperity.  It is more natural for me to say “Yet I praise” than “And so I praise.”

I write this to say that today I do not find myself at the bottom of a pit.  In fact, things across the board have been going quite smoothly and quite pleasantly lately.  God has been very gracious to me.  Too often I through periods like this with not so much as a “thanks, God.”  Like Job, I have learned to take the good with the bad–except that in the case of the good I take it for granted, and in the case of the bad I complain about it.  I don’t want traverse this one as an ingrate.  Psalm 117:2, “For great is His faithful love to us; the LORD’s faithfulness endures forever. Hallelujah!” Psalm 138:8, “The LORD will fulfill his purpose for me; your love, O LORD, endures forever– do not abandon the works of your hands.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

