Denial

“‘If any man would come after me, let him deny himself.’ The disciple must say to himself the same words Peter said of Christ when he denied him: ‘I know not this man…’ To deny oneself is to be aware only of Christ and no more of self, to see only him who goes before and no more the road which is too hard for us (88).”

– Dietrich Bonhoeffer, The Cost of Discipleship

This quote resonates with me.  It brings to mind Peter stepping out of the boat, Moses coming before Pharaoh, Jonathan and his armor bearer storming a Philistine camp of soldiers, Stephen preaching to the very men who would kill him, Paul and Silas remaining in prison though the doors had been flung open, John writing from exile on Patmos.  Faith in the immortal, omnipotent Christ frees me from a meager consideration of myself so that I can believe, like Paul, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me,” or as Jesus told us, “All things are possible with God.” Cease to consider the road.  Instead, behold the ones who goes before.

This entry was posted in Good Quote. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

